Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Nowadays, there is a popular phenomenon which is known as the obligation of owning a car and depending on it as a mean of transport, it is supposed that this has led to a serious traffic congestion, I strongly agree with this opinion, and this essay will demonstrate more about it, as well as the reasons behind this sort of phenomenon. Over the past thirty years, people started depending more on cars. Although, using a car for transportation consumes more gas, and forces you to spend more money, people prefer it. They consider it as the main mean of transport, which they see as an indispensable way, the reasons behind that are various, firstly, they tend to use an easy way rather than using the public transport as it takes more time and effort, furthermore, people think that owning the latest car and the most expensive will show your belonging to a high social class and others would appreciate you more for following the trend, and this proves that people tend to show off. Government has the biggest role to fix this kind of belief, they have to work harder on convincing the people with ways to decrease the traffic congestion as well as the advantages of using other means of transportations, they have to start with doing some social campaigns that concentrate on people’s health, they can encourage people to use the bike to transport in case of short distances as bikes are environment-friendly, and they benefit the health as well, in addition, people should be provided with myriad of public transport with fine fare so that they can cut the expenses of using gas for their cars. In conclusion, there are many ways that can be used to stop people from depending the most on their cars and start thinking in more rational ideas which mainly lead for a better environment, this process could take a long time but finally it will result in a more sensible society.