The best way to solve the traffic congestion in city is to provide free public transport for 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

It is argued that providing the citizens with free 24/7 transportation services is the most effective solution for traffic problems in many regions of the world. While I acknowledge many benefits from the provision of free transportation, the country implementing such change will only be successful under certain circumstances and there are a wide variety of other suitable methods that should be considered by the governments. On the one hand, if the city inhabitants can command the preference for public transport over personal vehicles, this can bring many positives for the community on dealing with the traffic issues. First, the road infrastructure would not be overfilled with cars and motorbikes if less of these vehicles are being active in the street. Singapore is almost never faced with road gridlock as people can see very few personal vehicles operating on road and most of its residents would rather use the mass underground for travelling. Secondly, personal vehicles would surely no longer be usable if the government could be able to carry out national transportation scheme that could offer access to any available area in the country. On the other hand, the argument that the installation of public transport with no fees required is second to no other in removing road congestion seems to be a stretch since such proposal would be accomplished only in countries with robust economic strength and developed infrastructure. In particular, free buses in Vietnam are at shabby conditions due to insufficient resources for regular maintenance and bus drivers are usually behind schedule that result from their questioning work ethics and underdeveloped road infrastructure in Vietnam. Therefore, customers are in no hesitance to switch back to their personal vehicles for travelling. Above all, if the national transportation system were thoroughly designed that offer high-quality seating and punctual travelling services, customers would be even more willing to use public transport and thus attenuate the impact of traffic congestion. What the government ought to do instead is to change the behavior to use public transport of the inhabitants and to improve the infrastructure built for public vehicles. In conclusion, the answer to the success of free transportation hinges on many factors and there are a wide variety of other effective solutions to this problem.