The best way to improve the quality of education at a university is to increase salaries of teachers.

Almost every university agrees that quality of education must be improved for them to attract students and stand on top. In my opinion, one of the best ways to strengthen quality in education is to improve incentives of teachers. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. First of all, high amount of salary keeps the teachers confident in class lectures and frees from financial difficulties, which are the two things that tutors often struggle with. If they do struggle, they cannot deliver quality content to the students. Looking at the past few decades, the price of common commodities has got to its peak. Not only teachers, but also individuals with other various professions often find difficulties in financial matters. My own experience is a compelling example of this. After finishing my undergraduate degree, I started mentoring mathematics in high school as a full time teacher. However, due to low salary amount, I used to feel discouraged and upset. On top of that, I had to pay for my rent, water and electricity bills which were really high. As a result, I ended up having a part time job at the evening. I started losing focus on my subject and I was not confident enough in class due to a lot of stress. I could not perform as I committed to my students. However, when my salary was increased in subsequent years, I did not continue my part time job and really started focusing on my students. As a result, students progressed a lot in my class compared to previous years. Secondly, teachers can manage printed notes and supplementary study materials, with which students can have more learning opportunities. For a quality education, relying on a single textbook is not enough. On other hand, students usually do not buy many textbooks and study materials for a single subject. If teacher can manage printed notes collected from many different sources, it can turn out to be an asset for students. As I said above, when my salaries were low, I faced a lot of financial difficulties and I couldn’t manage printed notes for students. When my salary was increased, not only I was able to solve my problems and feel confident, but also was able to collect contents from various sources, and print them as handouts for students. As a result, students were highly motivated and they started scoring really well in exams. In conclusion, I strongly believe that for a quality education, salaries of teachers must be increased. This is because with high salary, teachers are motivated enough for confident and quality lectures and can manage printed handouts for the students.