The best way for government to solve the problem of traffic congestion is providing free public transport in 24 hours per day, and seven days a week.

It is true that traffic congestion is becoming a controversial issue in many major cities. Although I agree that government can provide free public transport to address this problem, I do not consider that it is the best solution. On the one hand, there are many great advantages from serving transport system. By adopting this policy, governments, as well as many nations around the world saw a significant decline in the number of cars which used on the street. As a result, it is the beneficial way for society to reduce the risk of the accident which occurs frequently on the roads and cut down a large amount of emission gas which released into the atmosphere. Furthermore, using public transport allow commuters to save much money paying for gas, parking fees and taxes. For instance, if you use the private vehicle, you will have to pay taxes for fuels and maintenance service. By the restriction of wasting money, you can spend the amount of money on various personal purposes. On the other hand, the government should take into consideration about some disadvantages before applying a free public transport system. Firstly, traffic congestion only happens during rush hours due to a large number of commuters, so it would be a waste of money to supply free transport at night. In addition, there are important fields in the society which need investment such as building or upgrading transport infrastructure. For example, they should spend a large money to repair and broaden the road so drivers can easily go faster without worrying about any troubles. Secondly, people who commute by public transport may suffer the variety of dangers from criminals. As a consequence, the number of bus or train which increase rapidly at the same time can result in raising the crime rate. By illegal activities of offenders, residents can be threated to their property or their life. In conclusion, it seems to me that governments should serve appropriately free public transport as well as combine with other effective measures to tackle traffic congestion.