The amount of violence in movies has increased. What effect does this have on viewers? Should governments censor movies?

Despite being a great source of entertainment, some movies, such as action ones, might have negative impacts on their audience. In my opinion, there has to be some sort of censorship by governments on this field of industry to protect people from such impacts. Away from entertainment, motion pictures could have their dark side; they could implant negative psychological disorders in their viewers, youth in particular. As youths are the most vulnerable category of people that tend to imitate what they watch on screens, that is why their attitude may become more violent and aggressive by the influence of brutal scenes. In Egypt, there has been a remarkable change in the behaviour of people under 18 in terms of increased harassment and prevalence of white weapons after the appearance of Al Subki action movies, which have high dose of violence and profanity. Therefore, the more violence people watch, the more brutal they become. Owing to the previous argument, I believe that governments have to impose some serious measures to help mitigate those deleterious impacts on young generations. Firstly, there must be a law that prevents people who are under 16 from attending violent action and horror films in cinemas side by side with a guide that shows detailed contents about films for parents at home. Secondly and more importantly, governments should establish associations to censorship movies’ contents before filming them, and Censorship on Artistic Work Organisation in Jordan is a salient example for this which puts all films under scrutiny to prevent the inappropriate ones. By way of conclusion, through movies, violence can affect people negatively, and I hold the notion that if governments offered more supervision on these movies, there would be less harmful effects on audience.