The advent of the internet has made it possible for people to work from home. Write an essay looking at the advantages and disadvantages of this professional arrangement. Share personal examples in your essay.

The internet has revolutionised the world in many different ways. Among these, it has made it possible for people to work from home. This essay will analyse the advantages and disadvantages that arise when a person lives and works in the same place. Following this look, a reasoned conclusion will be shared. On the one hand, working from home gives people the flexibility to set their own hours, which can allow for the arranging of a schedule that maximises a person’s productivity. For example, a friend of mine freelances as a programmer from home and has discovered he is most productive when he works late at night. As such a schedule would not be possible at a normal 9 to 5 desk job, the positive effects his home office arrangement has on his productivity can be seen. Examples like this clearly show the advantages that can derive from working from home. However, working remotely like this can often be the cause of mental anguish. For instance, I recall once collaborating with an online team from the comforts of my apartment. Although this arrangement allowed me to make my own schedule, it also meant that I had to constantly be on call, as my co-workers contacted me day and night with their work-related problems. Thus, some jobs carried out from home may make it difficult for a person to detach personal time from professional commitments. The above look illustrates that certain jobs and certain people may be more fitted for the home office arrangement than others. The disadvantages revealed by the above discussion resonate most with me, and I thus prefer to engage my professional endeavours outside my home. Prospective remote workers should carefully weigh their options before making a decision.