Some people argue that formal education should start for children as early as possible, while others think that it should start until 7 years of age.

Formal education is crucial to the development and growth of children. In line with this, there are some people who claim that it should commence when a child is relatively young, while there are those to believe that it should begin by around 7 years of age. This essay will discuss why starting education later in life is good but why beginning it sooner rather than is ultimately more beneficial. On the one hand, it is argued that starting formal education by 7 years might facilitate better grasp on course content. This is because by that age, a child’s brain is developed well enough to not only understand but also retain knowledge well. For instance, Billabong High School – one of the most prestigious schools in India – invites admission for formal education at 8 years of age, as the school believes that it is the perfect time to teach children as they are able to comprehend and process information better. On the other hand, there are some people who believe that if a child is introduced to formal education by 4 years of age, there is a huge chance of him learning more and learning better. This is because at this tender age a child is learning to speak words and form complete sentences and hence serves as the perfect time to throw important information at them. For example, the parents of 6-year-old Indian child genius Derrick Obrien, who is often seen on children’s quiz shows, etc. , claimed that they admitted their son into school at 4 years of age. They further said that this had a huge part to play in him becoming a so-called “genius”. To conclude, it is true that formal education at the age of 7 is a good option because by then a child can fully understand. However, in my view, putting a child into school at a much younger age is more beneficial as their mind is a relatively blank slate which allows them to consume more and consume it faster.