The advantages brought by the spread of English as “a global language” will outweigh the disadvantages. with this view?

English is a universal language spoken and understood by most countries. For nations whose lingua franca is not English, a large number of people either spoke or understood English. I partly agree with the opinion that the merits of English as a global language outweigh the demerits with the following reasons. On the one hand, English Language as a worldwide accepted language of communication has made the world a global village. Also, communication and interaction is no more a difficult task to people. Nowadays, People from various countries can get involved in business transactions with this language. For instance, international trade can be achieved with the use of English as global language. Therefore, the world is becoming a global village with this particular language which is spoken and understood by people of different continents around the world. On the other hand, the native language of some countries and tribes are being overshadowed by the use of English language. Most countries no longer teach their local languages in schools especially. For example, many schools in Nigeria teach children in English due to this, native languages are disregarded. Howevere in generations to come most children will never know that their native language once existed. Therefore, English language has almost replaced a number of local languages. In conclusion, although English language has made the world united in terms of communication which has boasted international trade, So many Local languages belonging to countries and tribes are been suppressed and at the risk of phasing out due to the popularity of English language.