Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

In many countries, assessment is a key of the academic system. This can be seen as a way to judge the qualities of a student. However, I believe that this may not be representative of his knowledge. First of all, one of the main benefits of examination is that students have the chance to see their improvements during the year. For instance, if every week students have a vocabulary test, this will allow them to learn and get better. Gradually, they will be able to notice their progress and work on the things they did not understand. Moreover, tests are a tool which can help children to understand concepts and remember things. In fact, studying for an exam require to work for several hours. Knowledge learning takes place during this revision period, so tests have advantages. Nonetheless, examinations should not define the future of the students. For example, it is true that most of the universities select undergraduates through their GCSE results. Children are judged on simply one exam, which do not represent their capacities. Mediocre grades do not mean that a child won’t have a brilliant future. Moreover, a failure may provoke psychological issues like anxiety, stress, eating disorders and sometime suicides. In some countries, children have so much pressure for their exams that they decide to end with life. Measures should be taken to create an alternative way of judging students. In conclusion, assessment is a real asset to test our knowledges but should not be the only factor to determine our aptitudes.