Some argue younger people are not suitable for important positions in the government, while others think this is a good idea.

Government jobs at key positions are very critical and require serious responsibilities. Decision making done through important positions creates a long-term impact on the growth of the country in different sectors. Many people believe that critical offices in government should only be awarded to more experienced bureaucrats, while others believe that one should benefit from the creative and thriving skills of the young generation. This essay will look at both sides before drawing a conclusion. One the one hand, many argue that influential positions in government should only be given to older and experienced candidates. They say that experience give them necessary skill set which is vital in their decision-making skills. For instance, in the case of militancy in the country, a General would be more effective in mitigating the situation as compared to a lieutenant who has recently graduated. Moreover, they believe that young people, due to lack of field experience are unable to manage large teams and are unaware of government operations, procedures and regulations. Their induction in key positions can have catastrophic effects on the growth of the country. However, there are several plausible counters in favour of this argument. Young generation brings creativity and innovation in their work, which is vital for prosperity in the modern era. Their enthusiasm and dedication are nonpareil with older people. For instance, young government health workers successfully raised the awareness of polio vaccines in the country. Their efforts are evident from the charts where the number of polio cases registered every quarter is decreasing. Often government jobs require rigorous screening based on different criteria and if the youth is successful in passing out those that there is no harm in awarding important government jobs to young aspirants. Although the above arguments provide firm evidence for both sides of the argument, it is felt that healthiest approach in offering key government jobs is to ensure they follow rigorous training programs.   Thus, a person's age should not be a discriminating factor in awarding government jobs.