Telling the truth at all times is not essential. On some occasions it is necessary to tell lies, and it is wrong to tell the truth.

It is true that telling the truth is always welcomed. However, some people believe that lying to others is needed in some cases. From my perspective, I completely agree with this opinion. It is widely acknowledged that conveying the true facts is more beneficial. One of the advantages of this is of the exemplary image built up for truth tellers, meaning a good example of being honest is provided for people to copy. In order to educate their kids, parents, for instance, make every single effort to set a good example by avoiding telling lies to their offspring. Another benefit is that truth tellers are less likely to be isolated or lonely as they can easily gain the sympathy, appreciation or even support from others when the truths are told. As the incident of Facebook's data privacy scandal, Mark, the CEO of the corporation, had to apologize to the public and were called for the testimony due to the action of hiding the fact that Facebook users' information is irresponsibly protected. On the other hand, telling lies is also acceptable from time to time, just for some special cases, though. This is only tolerable when someone is not telling the truth with a view to fostering belief or positive attitude for the other ones. As doctors, when they cannot bear seeing their patients losing hope of a cure, they have a sufficient right to become a liar so as to help create the positive thinking. In conclusion, I would argue that telling truth is a must, but lies are sometimes necessary for the way of living.