Television has destroyed communication among friends and family.

Some people believe that the existence of television brings many negative effects in our communities. It is reported that television is one of the main reasons for the miscommunication problem between families, relatives and friends. I personally disagree with the statement, since it is not the television’s fault, but mainly due the irresponsible act of the individuals themselves, and the following paragraphs will explain it in more details. For a number of reasons, television brings a lot of benefits for many individuals and societies. Firstly, televisions provide lots of crucial information which are certainly useful for many communities. For example, it is common that news on television informs about the economic and political conditions of a particular country. This crucial information is definitely important for investors, financial analyst or bankers in making short and long term investment. Secondly, television also provides educative shows which are truly beneficial for the communities, specifically for students and scholars. Some of the shows are National Geographic Channel, Discovery or Animal planets which educate the public regarding the wildlife and natural sciences. On the other hand, some people are addicted to television and have spent a large portion of their personal time in front of the television and ignore their main duties as a member of a family or part of certain communities. I personally think that these kinds of problems are not due to the existence of the television, but due to the individuals themselves who are not capable and responsible in managing their times. It is also noticed that some people are not being wise in utilising their smartphones which certainly exaggerate the issues. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that televisions have caused some serious problems for individuals in terms of communication among families and friends, as it is the mistake of the individuals themselves who are not being responsible for organising their time.