Teenagers are spending an increasing amount of time on the internet, and this is having a negative effect on their social skills.

It is commonly believed by most people that the highly increase amount of time on the website or mobile by children can deteriorate their relationship with family and friends. While some people think that technology can benefit when it used as the tools to improve communication skills for adolescents. In my opinion, I agree that online platforms will have the positive impact to children for improving their social skills. First, many parents may concern that their children keep access social media or internet for the objective of playing games or entertainment only; however, most of the popular online website, namely Facebook and Twitter can be used by a teenager for the reason of education which has advantageous than disadvantageous. For instance, many children, who want to apply for university in the UK, will create the group chat in Facebook where they meet many other new friends who have the same interest on a similar study field in the undergraduate degree. Therefore, those teenagers can exchange knowledge and updated news about their future faculty as well as help each other on tutoring. As a result, this kind of educational sharing purpose on the online group helps teenagers to know new friends who have common interest but in the their immediate circle of their current society. Second, online platforms also helps adolescent to improve ability to build and maintain relationships with friends and strangers. For example, teenagers can easily having new friends by adding follower in the Instangram even with the person whom they have never met before. Furthermore, they are forced to find the most effective way to create and maintain relationship with their followers, otherwise, some of their new friends might unfollow them. In addition, they also have to active their social life through the social platform such as live video or Instargram story and this situation assists the children to practise their soft skills such as communication skills which will benefit when they become an adult. In conclusion, although the internet has a negative effect if children use it for the reason of non-education and gaming. From the advantageous above that I already mentioned, social media platform also benefits young people to improve their communication skills and meet new people who have the same interest for the educational purpose.