Technology has made man more social or less social

There is no doubt that technology has led to dramatic changes in the society, by reshaping our social aspect. While some people state that this contributes to less social human beings, others oppose this notion. Personally, I totally agree with the former view. To begin with, those who argue that technology has played an increasing role in promoting relationships, mainly by supporting their user in virtual friendships. For instance, social media networks, such as Facebook and Instagram, which are a great source of making new friends, are composed of virtual forums. As a result, enabling people to be exposed to a variety of people from different backgrounds all over the world. In contrast, if these individuals were not exposed to these sites, they would be less likely to meet new acquaintance and keep virtual relationships. On the other hand, I would advocate that technology has made us less social due to the scarcity of physical contact between each other. In other words, if individuals spend most of their time on online platforms, they will focus only in virtual communication; thus, compromising their real relationships. For example, if we compare older generation with the new one, the older tend to show a greater positive attitude toward new people than the youngsters, who compose the vast majority of online users. Consequently, by limiting real connections can lead us to isolation, and therefore triggering mental conditions like anxiety or depression. In conclusion, despite some people may state that technology has a positive contribute to social part, I strongly believe the opposite. It has put people’s social part in jeopardy by restricting them to virtual spaces rather than real ones.