Technology has a positive effect on education

It is true that the responsibility of raising children to be useful citizens lies with the parents. However, I believe that the educational institutions also have a crucial role to play. A family may be the smallest unit of a society, but the role it has to play in the progress of a community cannot be overemphasized. In other words, the family is the bedrock of the society. In every group, someone is expected to lead and guide the others. In every family, this responsibility naturally lies with the parents. When they carry out their responsibilities to their children as parents effectively by giving them the required home training instead of indulging their excesses or neglecting them altogether, the probability of raising good children who would morph into responsible adults becomes quite high. Conversely, if they neglect their duties as parents, their kids would most likely become the dregs of the society. According to a recent survey carried out by the department of Geography at the University of Lagos, individuals who have been well trained by their parents often go on to make positive contributions to their society while people with dysfunctional parental upbringing often end up indulging in vices such as crime and drug addiction, which makes them liabilities to the society. On the other hand, the role of education, particularly formal education in building a child cannot be ignored. As a popular saying goes, “teachers are builders of the nation”. This essentially means that their input goes a long way in developing a child’s intellectual capacity. Quality education provides a great deal of exposure and knowledge gives people an edge in the society and effectively equips them with the capacity to play vital roles in their society. I personally believe that parental upbringing and education are intertwined as they both contribute to the development of a child. Parental upbringing gives children good morals and the ability to decipher between what is right and what is wrong while education sharpens their mental and intellectual capacities. A balanced combination of these two factors would produce an individual, who has the potential to make a significant impact - in the positive sense- to his or her society, In conclusion, education and parental guidance are very crucial, but they produce the best results when they go hand in hand. .