Task 2: Parents give more freedom to their children nowadays than they do in the past. Is this a negative or positive development. Answer with reasons and personal experiences. . . . . .

Today's parents are increasingly seeing to the liberation of their kids in terms of self-expression for their likes and dislikes. This, in my opinion, is a highly constructive development and has resulted into numerous positive impact such as their ability to make crucial decisions among others. To start with, freedom given to the youth by their parents have generated a lot of beneficial growth in their lives. One of these is their capability to make life choices at a very tender age. Children nowadays are highly knowledgeable and because of the absence of confinement, they are exposed to hypothetical situations which enable them take good decisions for their future. However, in the past, family elders and parents are saddled with the responsibilities of choosing for the younger ones of which they must accept without recourse. For example, my mom once told me that her father decided for her to be a teacher, whereas she wanted to be a nurse. Another point to consider is that children who have free hand are able to socialize and mingle well amongst their peers and even people outside of their peers without being timid. Liberating the youths from unnecessary restriction helps them interact freely and wholeheartedly without holding themselves back. These children usually develop the ability to speak up for themselves in all situations, thereby helping in reducing child oppression and abuse. To illustrate, a teenager in my neighbourhood was bold enough to file a case against a man who sexually assaulted her. To sum up, handling the youth with a free hand, unlike in the past has helped groom positive developmental features in children. Features like the skill to make right choices as well as interact with people freely are a few of the various benefits that can emanate.