Talk about a city that you have visited recently. Please say- What and where is the city? - Why did you go there? - What did you like or dislike about it?

It is believed that, nowadays, while children prefer watching television to reading a book as a way of learning, the book plays an irreplaceable role in offering children a much better education. Taking into consideration the amount of knowledge television can transmit to a child and its alluring presentation, I completely disagree with this statement. Firstly, not only can television entertain children with hilarious cartoons, or catchy, funny children’s songs, it has plenty of educational programs. For example, Discovery Channel and National Geographic, which are accessible to children at a young age, trigger their curiosity and enhance their knowledge about the surrounding world. Those benefits will catalyse their aspirations for studying later in their life. By contrast, books, with their limited availability within children’s reach, fail to offer such a wide range of knowledge if the adults do not store a large number of books at home. Secondly, watching television is more exhilarating than reading a book. TV programmes are well-edited with genuine and thrilling footage, and captivating sound or voice, whereas books are full of words, tedious and sometimes hard to follow for young children because there are a lot of terms they cannot understand without their parents’ assistance. For instance, according to a survey with students at a primary school in London, 80% of the respondents said that they preferred to learn through television for reasons mentioned above. Therefore, television is obviously a useful learning tool for children early in their age to self-study without getting bored. In conclusion, although some may express their concern about the inability of television to well educate a child compared to books, I strongly believe that television is an informative and fun tool for children to learn things on their own from a young age.