t is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Some argue that performing arts are as essential as other subjects and even more to primary school children. This essay agrees with that statement and will first discuss how taking part in music, art or drama is a means for a child to express themselves and then talk about how it could help students explore unconventional career paths, followed by a reasoned conclusion. Art has long been a form of expression and has helped many young kids evolve. Most students, especially those in primary school are often very shy and find it difficult to open up to others. In such circumstances, they look for a means to express themselves and seek a safe outlet to do so which they find in the performing arts. For example, a study by Queen's University found that 62% of students who participated in music, art and drama felt more confident and relaxed around people. Another reason why the arts are as crucial as mathematics and science is because it gives young children a chance to explore alternative career paths. Some students are extremely gifted in dancing and painting and developing these skills at a young age is necessary if they decide to pursue it professionally later on. To illustrate, Elton John and John Legend who are both very talented musicians, admitted that their love for the profession stemmed from music classes in elementary school. In conclusion, music, art and drama are as pivotal as regular subjects because it assists children in overcoming their social fears and helps them realize their artistic dreams.