Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Nowadays, food’s global industry has increased its variety and quantity of products due to international agreements in terms of economy, importation and exportation of food. Owing to this, supermarkets have various products in order to allow people decide what they prefer when buying food. In my opinion, this is a valuable aspect of supermarkets, as it has products from all over the world for all the tastes and we can choose among different products. Personally, I prefer that supermarkets have a variety in food, because goods that are only produced in my country are limited to a few types, so if we would only consume the food that is produced nationally, our consumption would be highly restricted. This must be the case in several countries, where foods produced in the country might not be sufficient to satisfy the needs of the population, therefore, I believe it is a useful aspect of the country to import goods from the exterior. Nevertheless, I also think that national economy should be regulated in these matters, because a huge amount of food produced by the country is exported to internationals, leaving only a few amount of our national’s goods in the country. This is detrimental for us, as supermarkets in some occasions have more external products than national ones, which lead us to consume more exported foods than food from our own field. Furthermore, this can mean that the prices rise due to the taxes add for the exportation of what you buy for your table. For instance, in my town we produce high-quality tomatoes, however, most of them are exported to other countries, leaving us the worst of them, and leading us to buy in markets where the tomato is imported from overseas. Owing to this, we do not even have the possibility to try the tomato from here. To conclude, supermarkets should have a balance between national and international foods, as variety is a positive aspect of foods from overseas, but also we should be able to consume foods that are harvested and developed in our own country.