Successful sport players can earn a great deal more money than people in other professions. Some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair.

The fact that celebrated sport players make far more money than people in other professional groups is often debated topic in many societies. I believe that professional athletes are overpaid compared to the value they have in society, whereas many other experts are earning slightly over average. On the one hand, there are reasons why professional athletes' salaries might seem rightfully high. This is largely because they sacrifice important aspects of their lives, especially their health and family. For example, during each season of any professional event, there are away games that keep players away from their family. More significant, though, is that players put their bodies in danger of physical injury daily. Therefore, athletic stars' income is a fair compensation for the countless time and energy they put into the sport. On the other hand, such a high wages for the sportsman celebrities can have negative effects on a progress of society in general. This is due to the fact that many medical staff and research scientists earn just around 10 percent of the professional sportsman annual income. Hence, younger generations are unmotivated in devoting their time to practice lifesaving professional skills or improve their intellect. Take for instance the emerging situation with the corona virus infection. While all attention is focused on understaffed doctors and scientists to save as many lives as possible, sport celebrities are isolated in more than luxurious ambient. Consequently, humanity is at risk when entertainment became more valuable than public health. To conclude from the examples and arguments given, I firmly disagree that wages determined through worldwide fame rather than idealistic beliefs are unacceptable. Hopes are that the income gap between disciplines such as sports industry and the medical establishment will decline in the future, before it is too late.