Studies have suggested that nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons for this and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time o

It is true that children have used their time on watching television rather than performing dynamic or inventive activities at the present day. There could be several reasons for this tendency, and I believe that both schools and parent could take steps to involve them in physical and brainstorming tasks. There are various reasons involve with youngsters persuade them on watching television rather than effective activities. Firstly, in today’s society, most parents are the breadwinners for their families, and during working hours they have to leave their offspring alone at home. Thus, enjoying television programmes are more convenient companion for them at that period which will raise an addiction on them. For instance, both my brother and his wife need to stay out of home because of their office works, and i always found my nephews spend time on watching ‘cartoon network’ channel on TV all day long. They prefer to enjoy cartoons on TV rather than playing outdoor sports or indoor active games. Evidently, addiction of watching television can dispel the encouragement of their other inventive or energetic activities. Another reason is that our school curriculum are based on Science, Math and language subjects, whereas sports or other extracurricular subjects have almost omitted on the syllabus. For Instance, recently the government of Bangladesh have made a decision that they will exclude extra subjects such as arts, sports etc from junior school certification exams. This idea could discourage children to entertain themselves with active tasks, because they would not gain any marks for those subjects. Also, this could influence them to choose enjoying television as a fun. However, both governments and parent should take immediate actions to increase children enthusiasm on creative tasks. Firstly, School should introduce more sports and creative learning tasks in their syllabus which could keep young students in physical and mental practices. At the same time, they should arrange frequently some inter-school completions such as IQ test, Art and science exhibitions. Therefore, Students will be more attentive to practice not only at school but also at their home. Another measure is that parents should maintain their work-life balance for their children. They should manage more time to interact with their offspring’s indoor and outdoor activities. They could share different ideas or playing games with them, and these attitudes can motivate the children in creative thinking. In conclusion, both school and parents must play their vital role to divert their children from spend more time on watching television, and inspire them for innovative tasks.