Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

Over the last decades, people believed that students should learn students should learn academic knowledge in order to pass the exams with flying colors rather than learning soft skills such as cooking or dressing. In my opinion, I disagree with this view, because I think that both academic knowledge and these skills play equal roles. On the one hand, academic subjects brings many benefits to student’s study performance. First of all, it helps them to do well in exams. This is the reason why school tests usually require that students need to have a great knowledge of all subjects. In Vietnam, for example, if a school child wants to graduate from high school with an excellent score, he or she has to have thorough academic knowledge. Secondly, students graduating from a famous university are likely to have a chance to get a well-paid job because the candidates who wants to work for a large company needs to have a great degree. For instance, my sister, who is a manager, has a high income thanks to her professional diploma. On the other hand, I still believe that skills such as cooking or dressing also have some benefits. To begin with, learning these skills has a positive effect to a student’s life. Because of the practical skills such as washing or cooking, students can take care of themselves. To illustrate that overseas students cannot live with their families, so they have to cook or clean the house themselves. As a result, they will become more independent and mature. In addition, learning soft skills will encourage students to develop their passion. My best friend, for example, who is interested in painting and this skill helps her to relax after a hard-working day. Not only that, she can also earn money by selling her pictures. In conclusion, although I recognize the possible advantage of studying academic knowledge, I still believe that learning soft skill such as cooking or washing also have a lot of benefits. In my opinion, it will be better if they can balance them in their life.