News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Several people prefer to update themselves with current affairs on a regular basis and they often choose Newspaper or Television as the medium to get the stories. These stories get conveyed either in the written form or in the form of images and many believe that pictures hold upper hand in conveying stories than words. To a certain extent, News through image surpasses the written form; however, the written word elicits some support due to powerful communication medium. Undoubtedly, the news stories with images supports the effectiveness of the communication as it builds direct connect with the viewer. Examining the connect, the readers straightaway get to the core of the stories due to its visualization capabilities. For example, a student reading a story about new technology will easily get connected through a pictorial representation rather than a theoretical one. In addition to the above point, visual representation of the stories provides better chances at remembering the stories. On the other hand, one cannot deny the fact that written form delivers the message in the stories in a most powerful and appropriate manner. It certainly avoids the misinterpretation and the misunderstanding behind the story which the images cannot convey. To further explain this, consider an old man viewing the image of an activist sitting on a protest; this would not give a clear background of the story to the old man and he might interpret it in a different way. Not only the wrong interpretations could be avoided but also the details of the stories can come in far better way when conveyed through words. News stories will get conveyed through written and picture form, but if one seeks to go to the depth of the stories than choose written format. Despite the pictorial representation benefits, overall, news in written context embodies more impact.