Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught.

It is argued that libraries are unnecessary these days due to the fact that students have easy access to information via the internet. I disagree with this because libraries allow people to attain specialised types of information and are important for students to study in a quiet environment. Even though it is true that students find it much easier to get specific academic information connected to their studies on the internet, I think that libraries are still essential in schools and universities as well as public library facilities. One reason for this is that some types of specialised information cannot be found on the internet. For instance, most well-known academic authors do not immediately publish their recent work online, instead, they publish books explaining their analyses and results. Therefore, these books are usually found in university or school libraries before they appear on the world wide web. Another reason why I believe that they are necessary is that students need places to concentrate and focus. Libraries are perfect environments for this as they are very quiet and everyone there is motivated to investigate and study. As a result, they create an academic environment that encourages deep concentration. Too illustrate this, a research carried out by University of British Columbia in 2009 stated that students were more preferred studying in the libraries instead of working at home alone. They claimed that a silent academic atmosphere helped them to study and get better results in their exams. In conclusion, although the internet is of great benefit to students, I believe that libraries are still necessary as they grant access to specialised sources of information and their facilities provide better conditions for studying.