Stress-related illnesses are becoming increasingly common. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Over the last few years, more and more people have been reporting illnesses related to stress. This essay will discuss the two key causes leading to stress related illnesses--longer working hours and financial pressures. This essay will also suggest the solutions to these problems, including improving one's work-life balance and developing a sense of satisfaction. People are working longer hours than ever before. In addition, they also aspire to earn more to have a better lifestyle. This scenario has become quite prevalent in today's corporate world as the workplaces are inculcating a competitive culture while the costs of living is also increasing. For example, people these days want to climb up the corporate ladder faster than their colleagues as it promises them a better salary at the end of the month. This often results in putting extra efforts and extra hours at work which can be a disastrous factor for the personal and mental well-being, thus leading to stress and the related disorders. Maintaining a better work-life balance and developing a sense of satisfaction in life can help mitigate these problems that often cause stress. It is important for one to realise that money is essential, but it is not the only road to happiness, as having a disciplined spending habit can help cope up with the financial pressures. Moreover, having a life outside work is also significant to live a happy life. A recent research from the Harvard Business Review illustrated that people who spent a quality time with their family and friends and slept for more than 7 hours daily were not only highly productive but also less stressed at work. In summary, including quality time in everyday life and worrying less about money can help reduce stress in life. In conclusion, in today's corporate and materialistic world, stress-related illnesses are ubiquitous. This essay discussed how long working hours and financial pressures are leading to stress. This essay also suggested that maintaining a healthy work-life balance and having a discipline in spending habits can help avoid stress and the related ailments.