Sports programmes are hugely popular on television nowadays. But some people argue that these programmes are to blame for the poor health of many young people who prefer to watch rather than part take in physical activity.

Television programs based on sports are very popular these days, but many say that it is having a negative effect on youngsters because they just watch these programs and do not play sports. This essay agrees with this opinion because these programs are too addictive, and these programs do nothing to encourage youngsters to play. Sports programmes are very addictive for youth. This is because these programmes present sports as entertainment only and involves too many attractive activities. Most sports programmes use music, different angle cameras and cheerleaders to increase the interest in their show, and youngsters easily get distracted by these fancy tactics. This results in youngsters watching these programmes for many hours, which leaves them with no time to go out of their homes and play sports. For example, a recent survey conducted by Oxford University has found that more than 46% of UK parents say that their kids are addicted to watching sports. Sports shows do not inspire youth to play sports. These programs can highlight the benefits of playing sports, doing exercise or running, however, they only focus on gaining maximum views so that they can make money from advertisements. If these programmes, guide youngsters to actually participate in physical activities, then their programmes will get less advertisements because of fewer viewers. For example, a recent study by the London School of Media has found that more than 89% of sports shows do not promote participation in sports. To conclude, shows based on sports are making youngsters addicted to watching sports, and these kinds of shows have no element to encourage youth towards physical fitness.