Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. Do you agree?

In some companies of the developed countries the top-level positions are handled by men, although the female workforce is the majority. In my opinion, it would be biased if the companies mandatorily allocate a certain number of high-level positions to women. Academic background and skill set of an employee would help them in progressing their career irrespective of their gender. Companies should always ensure that, they keep developing the skill set of all the employees through various trainings and personality development courses. Transparent policies that allow people to understand why a particular individual is promoted will help them in understanding the management requirements. These policies will also avoid the glass ceiling, thereby all the deserving workforce can move up the corporate ladder without any partiality to the gender. If organizations start forcefully allocating a specified number of positions to female workforce, it will lead to a biased hierarchy structure. Also, if female employees without experience are force-fitted to a particular position, they might not be able to perform well. Employees should be continuously assessed and 360 degree feedback should be taken while promoting him/her to top of the pyramid. Another thing to consider is the culture and recruitment policy of the company. Institutions should treat the employees in an unbiased fashion, creating a harmonious work culture. Also, while recruiting new employees the gender ratio of the organization should be kept in mind to ensure that the gender balance ratio is maintained at all levels of the company. To conclude, employees within an organization should be treated equally irrespective of their gender and academic background. This kind of a culture will help the workforce in progressing over the years and ensuring the top level positions are filled gender neutrally.