Speaking Part 1 Your country Which part of your country do most people live in Tell me about the main industries there How easy is it to travel around your country Has your country changed much since you were a child

To live a longer life has been a dream for countless years. With the development of science and technology, it might be possible for people to live for one hundred and fifty years in the near future. However, in my opinion, it may not be beneficial for people to do so. Undoubtedly, there are some major advantages of living a longer life. Firstly, people could enjoy longer lives and do more of the things they want, such as trying different lifestyles. They could spend more time with their family and even watch their children grow to old age. In addition, people could contribute more if they lived longer lives, especially scientists and other valuable members of society. For example, if Edison had lived longer, he might have invented more things for us, or Mozart might have produced more wonderful music. Nevertheless, there could be many disadvantages if people lived for one hundred and fifty years. Firstly, people might be unhealthy in their later years and may suffer from painful diseases such as arthritis. Additionally, there may be ethical questions involved. Will everyone be able to live for this long – or only the citizens of developed countries? Another factor is that an increasing older population would cause many problems for society. For example, it would place a lot of pressure on the social welfare system – a situation already developing in countries such as Japan. Finally, the overpopulation of the earth could greatly damage the earth’s ecosystem and could lead to ecological disaster. In conclusion, I believe that the disadvantages for people living for one hundred and fifty years far outweigh the advantages. Therefore, this development would be a largely negative one in our society.