Speaking more than one language is important these days. Therefore, children should start learning a second language during their school time.

Over the past century, the globalization has allowed people to travel across the world for work, study or tourism, which has led to the need of knowing different languages. Certain people feel that learning a second language will detach their children from the cultural values of their nation while many people, including myself, believe that learning a new language will benefit children in many aspects. Certain individuals want to stick with their traditional opinions and culture because of which they do not prefer teaching their offspring the languages other than the native one. They believe that if a child is introduced to a foreign language, the child will get influenced by it and will start losing the roots of native language, also it will start creating a gap between the generations because young generation will not be able to communicate with the older generation. However, old generation will understand the positive side of learning a new language when they are introduced to the beneficial outcome of knowing foreign languages. Another kind of people believe that learning a foreign language is the need of an hour as government of many countries are offering job opportunities, permitting people to settle in their nation and promoting tourism. Indeed, the communication will become easier between tourists and local people, if tourist knows the foreign language. Certain individuals put their children in foreign language classes at an early age because they believe that a child grasp new habits easily, so he will learn new language effortlessly and will have a good command over it. Nowadays, parents are helping their offspring to learn through the internet also by providing educational videos and articles published on the internet. Personally, I agree with the thought of being bi-linguistic or multi-linguistic as it will help in the development of a person as well as society.