Speaking more than one language is important these days. Therefore, children should start learning a second language during their school time.

Over the past century, the globalization has allowed people to travel across the world for work, study or tourism, which has led to the need of knowing different languages. Certain people feel that learning a second language will detach their children from the cultural values of their nation while many people, including myself, believe that learning new language will benefit children in many aspects. Certain society, people want to stick with their traditional thoughts and culture because of which they do not prefer to teach their children the languages other than the native one. They believe that if a child is introduced to a foreign language, the child will be influenced by it and will start losing the roots of native language, also it will start creating a gap between the generations because young generation will not be able to communicate with the older generation. However, old generation will understand the positive side of learning a new language when they are introduced to the outcome of knowing foreign languages. Another kind of people believe that learning foreign language is the need of an hour, as government of many countries are offering job opportunities, permitting people to settle in their nation and promoting tourism. It will be easy for a person to travel to the other nation if he/she knows their language as communication will become easy, so it is preferred to teach language at a very young age. If a language is taught to a child in his childhood, he will easily learn it and will have a good command over it. So nowadays, parent are encouraging their children to learn more than one language by providing them classes in school or through internet. Personally, I agree with the thought of being bi-linguistic or multi-linguistic as it will help in the development of a person as well as society.