A second language is regarded as essential to success in the modern world. It should be a compulsory for all children to study a second language as soon as they start school. with this opinion?

It is argued that schools must teach kids a second language once they start school because it is essential to be able to read, write, speak and listen in a different language from our mother tongue in order to progress in present-time. This essay totally agrees with that statement because young ones can learn different languages much faster than adults and also most jobs require knowing a second tongue. Kids have the ability of learning idioms in an impressive and swift way. Our brains have the capacity of learning an endless number of languages at the same time, but from ages 3 to 10 our brain’s neural network are spouting more rapidly and as a consequence we need less repetitions in sounds or words so as to learn languages. For example, Oxford university recently reported that kids between 3 and 10 years old need only 4 repetitions of sounds or words for memorizing the word or sound. Another reason why being bilingual is fundamental is because in most jobs is indispensable to be able to communicate in two different languages. We are living in societies where is very common to interact each day with people of different nationalities. For instance, recent research shows that there are at least 3 different customers that go every day for a coffee to the international coffee shop called ‘Starbucks’ whose mother tongue is different from the cashier. Therefore, it is necessary to speak English so as to get a job at Starbucks. To conclude, kids should learn another language at school because they can learn it in a short period of time and in present times even in the simplest job is inevitable not to speak another language.