In your opinion, how is teaching adults different to teaching young learners?

Understanding the fact that teaching adults is different from teaching young learners is a crucial issue which needs deep analysis and accordingly appropriate techniques ought to be chosen. The differences can be scrutinized based on their purpose, educational environment, course books and dependence. First, unlike young learners who are encouraged by their parents to do some language courses, adults are self-motivated because of extrinsic motivations. By this I mean they usually take an educational course to get a promotion, start a career or continue their education. Consequently, they expect to be taught and assessed seriously. Teachers should be disciplined and follow well-designed lesson plans to accomplish their course successfully. They are supposed to prepare exams based on students’ needs and provide them with vital feedback to study better. At the end of the course they want to understand how much they have learned and progressed. Second, in spite of the fact that adults’ classes have some formal equipment such as chairs, laptop, whiteboard and video projector, young learners’ classes are decorated differently to keep them energetic during the class. In fact, in order to attract their attention, schools should provide some toys, realia, specially-designed chairs for kids and colourful equipment. Besides, their classes should be spacious enough for playing different games. Third, the study materials used for teaching both groups are supposed to be different. Course books studied by adults are full of grammatical and lexical parts which need to be taught inductively or deductively, and they usually ask for supplementary materials to improve their vocabulary and reading comprehension. However, course books covered by young learners consist games, songs and stories. Teachers need to be aware of these differences and try to choose suitable teaching methods. Fourth, although young learners rely on their teachers for studying, adults are self-dependent. On one hand, adults can do projects, learn something by self-study, present lectures and make arrangements with their classmates to study out of the class. Accordingly, teachers should provide them with adequate topics to search about, ask them to present lectures and prepare some writing projects. On the other hand, kids like to be taken on educational trips, play vivacious games with their classmates and sing songs in the class. Taking the most important things into consideration, since adults’ learning is completely different from kids and teenagers’ learning, teachers are expected to be familiar with these differences and use the best pedagogical methods to help them achieve their goals.