Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. What problems are caused by this issue? What can be done to solve this situation?

Many young adults these days are preferring cities over the villages to reside, increasing the elderly proportion in the rural areas. This trend poses serious threats to the farming industry as well as the social life of the elderly. Certain measures can be undertaken to help minimize the negative consequences of such a trend. Firstly, a very basic reason to put a limit on migration of our rural working force to cities is to ensure the food supplies we derive from villages. Mega cities depend heavily on the agricultural food products. With less people working on farms, the yield will drastically be reduced. One simple solution to this issue is to educate adolescent about the role villages play in sustaining everyone. Additionally, temporary provisions could be made, for the youths interested in working in cities, at their home without altering the rural working potential. Furthermore, people mainly amongst the elderly age group are left behind, all by themselves due to settlements of their sons and daughters in the distant cities. Most elders cannot take care of themselves on their own. Such a trend will impair the quality of care they should be receiving and hence further having detrimental effects on their health. Lastly, as a possible solution, quality higher education could be made available to young adults opting cities for further studies, and thus allowing them to stay at home with the elders. Another example for an effective solution would be to make certain jobs and employment opportunities available in remote areas so as to cut down the migration rates. To conclude, there are serious concerns over youths leaving their countryside homes, opting for an urban lifestyle and certain solutions will help mitigate this problem if implemented correctly.