Nowadays, some parents pressure their children to be successful. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Over the last few years, children are usually pressurized by their parents to excel mainly because of the insecurity they have about their career. I believe this is a negative trend as everyone has different interest and performance cannot be enhanced by pressure. One reason why parents push their children to perform well to achieve success is due to the insecurity they have regarding their career. In other words, parents are seriously concerned about the grades their child obtains at school as they think it will have a direct impact over their future. With their child not performing up to the mark worries them a lot. Another reason for this parental insecurity is the fear they have about their child lacking behind. Most parents, for instance, spend huge chunks of money over their child’s education as a result of this fear, and therefore, exert pressure on them to achieve academic excellence. In my opinion, I think parents pressurizing their children for success is actually counter-productive. The reason for this is simply because of the fact that success is a result of one’s motivation to apply themselves to carry out tasks independently. This skill cannot be induced in a person by putting pressure over them. For example, someone good at Mathematics, will not necessarily perform well in sports, regardless of the pressure exerted. This is a clear reason why achieving success does not depend on the amount of pressure, and doing so in fact becomes a hurdle in the path of achieving success. In conclusion, while parents, being focussed about their child’s future, exert pressure on their children to achieve success. I feel, more attention ought to be paid on their interest rather than deciding on their carrier.