Some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in countryside? What problems does this cause? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, some of young people are moving away from rural area, leaving old people behind. While at least three negative consequences could result from this situation, some straightforward measures can be adopted to alleviate them. The problems posed by the migration of the young people are manifold. Perhaps the major issue we need to tackle with is the negative impacts on the economic status of the non-urban areas. Young people play an important role in available force labour in these areas as they are more suitable than older ones for jobs demanding physically or involving new technology. Besides, they constitute the majority of workers in the countryside. Therefore, many sectors including farming and industry might run into problems with force labour. This situation would decrease the output of them, and as a result, it would put these areas in economic depression. A second challenge is increasing the cost of health services. Many of older adults in the countryside live with their children or even they live separately, their children take care of them. Without their children, the governments are responsible for taking care of old people. In fact, the authorities should pay money for nurses and improve infrastructures like health centres and hospitals. Finally, older people may suffer from psychiatric disorders. This population usually tend to spend time with their family and rely on them and in fact, they are tied to younger people. If young members of their family move to cities, they would not cope with the feelings of loneliness and get mentally ill. Therefore, a number of effective remedies must be implemented to tackle these issues. First key step would be providing an incentive for young people to come back and stay in the non-urban areas. Infrastructures such as mall shops, entertainment centres, public transportation and hospitals should be expanded into these areas because this may lead to an increase in quality of life of young people who are seeking a better life in cities and towns and therefore, they would be willing to stay in the countryside. A further step could be attracting inhabitants of urban areas to live in the countryside. Some people, especially young adults, prefer to live in places, allowing them to save money on the cost of living. The government could subsidize fuel, housing and education. Therefore, this approach may recover the population of young individuals in these areas over the time and prevent these places from facing problem relating to migration of young adults. By way of conclusion, the movement of young people to the cities and towns may lead to an economic depression in these areas, overspending health care budget and increasing the risk of mental diseases among older people, but this situation could be addressed by getting approaches improving quality of life of young people living in the countryside and attracting inhabitants of urban areas involved.