Some young children participate in a wide range of extra-curricular activities such as music, sports, or photography. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Use specific reasons and details to support your response.

Nowadays, participating in extra-curricular is becoming increasingly popular. For some children, taking extra-curricular class brings them a lot of happiness. However, there are both pros and cons to decide to join it. In this essay, I will discuss why extra-curricular is so popular and some of the dark sides to be overcome. Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of enrolling extra-curricular classes. One of the main positives of entering this kind of activities is that it offers children an opportunity to shape and direct their passions. At school, teachers always ask students focus on academic curriculum and forget that some of them can perform better at music, art or sports rather than academic learning. In contrast, through extra-curricular activities, students can explore their interests while they are still in school. Take “The voice kids” for example. This contest help teens to test out if they have potential talent for music. Thanks to the show, many beautiful voices have been found out and the owners are given chances to follow and develop their passion. Secondly, extra-curricular activities is a secret for the university life. Colleges and universities are looking for well-rounded children. While high grades serve as a testament for academic ability, it doesn’t indicate the person the applicant is. Mere mention of extra-curricular activities can help students to increase the odds of admission. Obviously, enrolling in extra-curricular activities is not only a perfect platform for passion pursuit but the key to succeed in university application of the young as well. Turning to the other side of the argument, the ability to distinguish between interests and priorities is a major problem. Although out-of-school activities is are just addition to the regular schooling days, some students can’t gauget whether extra-curricular activities or schoolwork is more important. Clearly, teens find it hard to deny the urge to do something they love compared to other priorities. Consciously or unconsciously, they deny the academic priorities to follow passion, which can have a negative affect on their academic performance. Another issue is extra expense along with those activities. No matter what kind of activtities teens choose, expense is required. If a child learns to play music, her parents will have to spend a lot of money to rent or buy instruments and find a good teacher. Similarly, skating activity requires a good quality skaters, or it may be cost for shoes and uniform for dancing. Thesedays the cost of living is sharply increasing, which asks many parents to do extra work to provide for extra-curricular activities of their babies. All things considered, there are clearly both positives and negatives to enroll extra-curricular activities. While it is known as a great way to explore passions and apply to university, for many people there are many differences to face with. Personally, I believe the benefits in term of personal growth eventually outweigh any negatives.