Some universities require students to take classes in many subjects. Other universities require students to specialize in one subject. Which one is better?

I think the issue about what is better to specialise in many subjects or choose the one is a controversial one. Each option has its own advantages and disadvantages. Some people prefer to specialise in one subject and know it very well. However, others prefer to extend their range of interests and specialise in many subjects but not in detail. Bellow I will give reasons to support my position. From the one side, learning something in detail brings many benefits. First of all, people gain more knowledge and experience in this area. So, after graduation, they are well prepared for their further career in this field. Second, they do not spend their precious time on other subjects. This gives them the opportunity to focus on one subject. From the other side, people who specialise in many subjects have more options to choose from. For example, if a person does not make a decision about what he is going to do after graduation it is a very good chance for him to try many fields of study and make the right decision. In addition to this practical benefit, a person has the opportunity to extend his range of interests, his communication skills and have better conceptions of things around. Also, a person has a better chance to choose what he really likes to do and make self-realization. To sum up, I think that every person should have a chance to choose. Does he want to specialise in one subject or he wants to take classes in many subjects?