Some think that residents should responsible for keeping thier areas clean and tidy, while others say it is the government’s responsibility.

The issues of who should keep the surrounding clean had been highly debated. While some people hold the view that it is the responsibility of those who live there, others believe that keeping the environment neat is the duty of the government. This essay will discuss individual tax payment as a reason why it should be the government but why it should be the responsibility of the resident on the ground of health. As for those who argue that the government ought to be responsible for waste removal, they feel this way because residents pay huge taxes. Authorities deduct a certain amount of money from their earnings for administering good governance, which includes but not limited to a neat and tidy environment for people to dwell in harmony. Such statutory deduction is more than enough for the government to procure vans and pay personnel for cleaning the streets and make the area look good. The New York Times, for instance, reported that in 2018, an approximate sum total of 3 trillion dollars was withdrawn from employees as a chargeable tax on income. It is, therefore, evident that the government annually received significant finance for taxpayers to run a beautiful environment. Some people, on the one hand, are of the opinion that maintaining a clean and tidy environment should be on the streets' dwellers, and I agree. This is because they are the same people who initially faced a negative consequence. It is without a doubt that over time, the streets will have a stem smell, and unremoved waste will encourage the proliferation of disease-causing micro-organism. These unseen micros would infect inhabitants with a deadly disease, of which lots of money would be an expense for treatment and in some case death. For example, the recent outbreak of malaria in most parts of Lagos, Nigeria is traceable to dirty gutters and improper disposal of refuse. From this, it makes it apparent that poor environmental management directly affects the resident's health. In summary, cleaning and having everywhere tidy is an essential aspect of human existence. This essay discussed why levies collection makes the government the right source of environmental sanitation management but why house dwellers who ignore taking care of their streets should face increase sickness. In my opinion, having residents handle the cleaning and neatness of the street helps prevent diseases.