Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in future, such as those related to science and technology.

The desire to make a successful career in life is one reason most people further their education by attending the university to study their dream course. However, some people are increasingly convinced that only subjects with futuristic relevance be studied by students, instead of studying their choice of subjects, as others would argue. Both views will be discussed below and my opinion stated in this essay. Today, most people believe that some fields of study such as science and technology is gradually taking over the world; hence the need to have more people delve into such field is desired. For instance, having more people study courses such as medicine would mean having more doctors, which is actually very important in our world today. Similarly, almost every sphere in life today has a touch of technological innovation for daily use. For instance, the use of technology is in every other profession such as sports, telecommunications, Banking, and Mass communication among others. Conversely, Other people feel the choice of a student should come first, as it would give them a sense of fulfillment. Today, most people feel fulfilled in doing what they desire irrespective of its relevance in future. The fact that they derive joy from doing what they want actually births the will to succeed more in that field of study. For instance, a recent survey conducted by the statistics department of university of Lagos revealed that most students who made poor grades were forced by their parents into studying what they did not truly desire. Consequently, these students struggle to achieve excellence, but the result is almost always poor. Furthermore, the importance of heterogeneity in the world today cannot be overemphasized. Musicians for instance, play a key role in soothing the soul of people, even though some individuals might see no futuristic importance in Music. In conclusion, there have been a growing debate on what subject students should study. While some people argue that students should only study courses of future importance such as science and technology, other feels otherwise and opine that student should study their choice. I am however of the opinion that Students should be allowed to study their course of choice as it gives them a sense of fulfilment and also creates diversity in the society.