Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

One of the major challenges being faced by the cities is the geometric rate at which people migrate from rural settlements to urban centers. This, however, has been found to manifest with attendant consequences such as difficulty in waste management as well as health deterioration of the inhabitants of these cities. Solutions to these problems will also be proffered in the sequel of this write-up. First and foremost, due to the rising population in the cities, statistics have shown that it has become increasingly difficult to control and manage wastes generated from various households in the metropolises. Wastes such as food remnants, polythene bags as well as plastics have been found to constitute about 80% of these wastes. However, to nip this in the bud, each household has a responsibility of having their refuse disposal bags and containers at their disposal while the government also assists in providing door-to-door waste management services to convey these wastes to dump sites at the outskirt of the city. Furthermore, owing to overcrowding which results in competition for the available oxygen in the atmosphere, cases of communicable diseases have become epidemic amongst cities’ inhabitants. Viral diseases such as flu and tuberculosis have become almost impossible to eradicate as a result of this phenomenon. In this regard, the government is saddled with the responsibility of creating a housing plan with a fundamental intent of opening-up the undeveloped and less developed areas. This will drastically free-up some of the densely populated areas within the city while also reducing the incidence of disease epidemic. In conclusion, with conscious efforts by the citizens and government alike, challenges associated with overpopulation of the urban areas are quite surmountable and manageable in order to make the cities more habitable.