Some think that residents should responsible for keeping their areas clean and tidy, while others say it is the government’s responsibility.

There is no doubt that the locality in which a person lives should always be kept clean. While some people think that maintaining these areas is the responsibility of the government, I would argue that it is also the duty of the dwellers to keep their surroundings clean. On the one hand, people who believe the authorities should manage the cleanliness of all the residential areas might argue that they pay taxes to the government, and consequently, they are entitled to avail these facilities. They opine that their taxes must be utilised by the government to provide better living standards to all the inhabitants and not for any other use. For example, if a person is paying 30% of his annual salary as tax, he will expect that ultimately its benefit should be given to them by the bureaucrats by looking into the matter of cleanliness of their locality, so that, they do not have to pay more money to any other worker to maintain that area because they had already paid for it in the form of taxes. On the other hand, I believe that one should take the initiative to do things yourself because a government worker will do it as a duty because he will be paid for it, but conversely, the residents would know the area and its problems in a better way. Hence, their helping hand is quite crucial in such matters. For instance, a garbage collection van would not collect a localities' waste, if all the dwellers do not take the responsibility to take out their household garbage and accumulate together at one place. Therefore, I think that a government cannot work properly if it does not get the co-operation of the local residents, and hence, each person's initiative is inevitable. In conclusion, while some people think that it is the government's responsibility to maintain the household localities, I firmly believe the for smooth running of the authorities' works, each individual should understand and complete their duties.