Some think that developing a successful career is more important than spending time with family and friends while others disagree

Nowadays work-life balance is a subject of a controversial issue, affect life of all people; while some highlight the importance of career progression in a person' s life more than spending time with family, critics condemn this idea and believe that people should spend more time with their loved ones. In this essay, I will discuss viewpoints of both sides of the debate and express my perspective in the conclusion. On the one hand, proponents of career success often mention the financial aspect of job achievement. By being a top-rated workforce in any field, one would have a choice to find a job at best companies, which offer high salary and package to their employees. This would enable the person to support his family financially or poor people, by donating to charities. Besides that, some people need challenges and hard-working in their life, since it is matched with their personality. There are a lot of people, who would get bored by family gathering or socializing with friend, while get excited by progression in their work, that gives them great satisfaction. On the other hand, critics believe that focusing only on career, while neglecting family and friends, is not a healthy practice for one' s life, especially in the long-term. Widespread stressed-related diseases or depression, especially in the developed countries, signals that people should have a more balanced lifestyle, by changing their habit and spending adequate amount of time with their family. Moreover, opponents argue that nothing, ranging from money or success, could replace a person role in his/her nuclear family. For instance, children, whom bring up without enough attention by their parents due to long-hours jobs, would suffer from a lot of problems in their adulthood. In summary, while the role of professional success in one' s life is undeniable, it is sensible to conclude that people should put aside materialistic consideration and not sacrifice their own and family' s well-being, the most important priority in everyone' s life.