Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the era of globalization facilitates student exchange programs between nations across the globe. While it is believed that teenagers can reap great benefits, I advocate that drawbacks, these programs bring to students also need to be paid attention to. Student exchange programs have some positive effects on teenage school students. The first advantage is that they accelerate the well-rounded development of students’ skill. This is because students have to solve problems they face and shoulder all responsibilities such as household chores or financial balance without the assistance of families, which means that they need to possess practical skills consisting of problem-solving skill and personal finance management skills. Other than that, studying abroad provides them with more chances to gain profound knowledge of cultural diversity and cultivate language skills. The reason is that living in other countries means that dealing with people of different cultural background is inevitable. On the other hand, there are some issues which can be attributed to student exchange programs. First of all, students are prone to mental illness. It is undeniable that culture shocking, homesick, race discrimination and lack of support from other family members are some issues almost all exchange students can be faced with; therefore, if students are not equipped necessary skills and knowledge with a view to adopting life in other countries, they may be suffering from some mental problems such and autism and depression and grow up with low self-esteem. Moreover, the cost of exchange problems has a tendency to be really high, which put a greater financial burden on students’ families, particularly middle-income and low-income families. All in all, although student exchange programs help teenagers master practical skills, they also can be considered as a culprit behind mental and financial problems.