Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school students. Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by some teachers that all teenage school students would benefit a great deal from foreign exchange programmes. Despite some drawbacks of this idea, I think that the benefits are more significant. On the one hand, there are a number of major disadvantages when teenage students decide to engage in international exchange projects. The first drawback is culture shock. Exchange students might be faced with unfamiliar customs and different beliefs, which could easily lead to misunderstanding, tension and conflicts. It may be difficult for them to concentrate entirely on their studies when they are struggling to adapt to the new culture. Another disadvantage is that many students are unable to followtheir international learning programmes, leading to undesirable academic outcomes. Some of my friends, for example, have to re-sit the exams or have difficulties catching up with their lectures due to poor language skills. In my opinion, however, the benefits that such programmes bring to students are far more significant than the drawbacks. Firstly, exchange students are given the opportunity to meet different people from all over the world and learn a range of skills that they might not have a chance to learn if studying in their home country. For instance, they can develop their social skills by sharing their experiences with other exchange students and get a deeper insight into the culture by immersing themselves in the local community. Another benefit is that living in a different country helps exchange students become more independent. This is because without daily support from their parents, these students have to learn to cook, clean, manage their budgets and make their own decisions. In conclusion, althought exchange students might have difficulties in adapting to the new culture and following international school curriculums, I believe that the benefits of international exchange programmes do outweigh those drawbacks.