Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

Nowadays, environmental problems are global issues the government in all nations across the globe desires to implement appropriate methods to tackle. While it is believed that only large firms and the authority have enough ability to solve it, I advocate that the roles of each individual are also of great importance. There are some sound reasons why the large businesses and the government play essential roles in solutions of environmental issues. The first explanation is that they have plenty financial resources from profits and taxation. That is the reason why it is impossible for them to allocate their budgets to environmentally friendly approaches, including optimizing the use of renewable energy and using bio-degraded material for the sake of production. Other than that, harsh punishment which only the government is entitled to introduce can deter citizens from the deterioration of the environment. This is because no one wants to be faced with stringent penalties such as incarceration or a heavy fine. Besides, the effects of citizens also need to be taken into consideration for some compelling reasons. First of all, awareness and cooperation of people are the key factors for the protection of the environment. For example, if the government facilitates the development of the public transportation, which reduces carbon emissions from private vehicles, but citizens refuse to use it, the volume of atmospheric greenhouse gases will continue to soar. Moreover, the voices of the public are powerful. That is the reason why when all of us boycott environmentally irresponsible companies, they have a tendency to change their attitudes and apply ecologically friendly methods to boost their sales. All in all, not only large companies and the government but also every person have to join in the conversation of the environment.