Some teachers are just lecturing (speaking) in class and students only take notes; some other teachers spend their class time on discussions and projects, and students share their ideas with their classmates. Which one do you prefer?

Some favor spending class time on discussions and sharing ideas with classmates, believing that it can bring advantages to students. Others, however, prefer to choose traditional teaching way, thinking that students can develop their ability by themselves. From my perspective, it is proper to have discussions in class. First of all, students may improve their learnring effect via spending class time to share ideas with classmates. It can be guaranteed that each student is able to participate in class and truly understand knowledge. On the contrary, if students have classes in the form of tradition, it is likely that many students do not pay attention and are left behind the teaching progress. So they actually do not accept important knowledge. Besides, when students encounter problems in class, they can combine their various ideas from different perspectives to solve questions properly. While, the traditional teaching methodology only allows students to come up with their own solution simply and sometimes mistakenly. Without discussing in class, students can not treat problems more clearly and gain more knowledge. In addition, discussions in classes can cultivate students’ flexibility of thinking and linguistic competence. When one student express his general attitude to the issue, others need to organize their thoughts and make supporting details sequential within a short time in order to respond to his comment distinctly. It is obvious that such process is able to help students boost their brain’s response speed and logical thinking. Also, sudents do not know how to convey their ideas affirmatively and leisurely in front of others. So, as students try to make statements in class, they can be gradually familiar with what words they should use or how to make others actually understand. And they ultimatelly enhance the verbal skills. However, if students only take notes when teachers impart knowledge, never would they have opportunities to promote the ability in thinking and oral expression. By way of conclusion, I do think students should be allowed to discuss and share opinions with classmates. After all, having high quality of learning with active brain and presentation skills is more necessary for students. Power by YOZOSOFT