Some students would like to have a long vacation during the academic year. Other students would like to have several shorter vacations during the academic year. What is your preference and why? Include details and examples in your explanation.

Nowadays, with rapid circulation of information, there are numerous ways people could acquire knowledge. In this essay, the difference between knowledge learned from experience and acquired from books will be thoroughly compared to analyze of the following aspects: practicality and varieties. First of all, when it comes to practicality, apparently, the knowledge gained from books differs from obtained from experience. To be more specific, books offer theoretical knowledge, however, the experience that we gained is from putting those theories into practice to harvest the benefits. Take the doctors for example. The curriculums of medical students involve anatomy, physiology, pathology and so on. There is no denying that books are the most systematic way to build the concepts by providing the subject in detail. However, the most important thing, for the doctors, is how to apply such knowledge to clinical conditions. Clinical situations faced by them could be totally different from what they had learned from a book. Besides, every patient’s condition would not be identical. That is to say, it is the personal experience not the dogmatic textbooks that qualify them to face a whole new situation. What’s more, varieties are another point which should be taken into account. There are a variety of books published every day, ranging from arts to science. Nonetheless, how much information can we absorb from them? It is no denying that people tend to accept the information which is closely related to their working field although they are exposed to a deluge of knowledge from books. In other words, books are the fine platforms for providing diverse ideas. But the things we learn in real-life could get straight to the point what we concerned with. In conclusion, knowledge obtained from both books and experience plays an indispensable role in information acquisition. However, considering the practicality and varieties, I suppose that knowledge learned from experience is crucial and should be valued more.