Some students save their textbooks. Others sell them back to the school’sbookstore. Which would you do?

Some of are the opinion that high school students should have free community services as a mandatory program in their curriculum. In my opinion, community services play a very important part in the development of the children as individuals as well as a team. However, education should be the top priority and any activity hindering it should not be practised upon them. I believe, children today should have compulsory community service as a part of their education. The reason is, with the onset of mobile phones and social networking sites such as Facebook in particular, there has been a steady increase in virtual friends and at the same time, lesser and lesser children are participating actively in their own local community events. This result in children being disconnected from their own local community. By having mandatory community service for students, we are enabling them to form a close bond with their own locality and at the same time, bring young energy into the streets. However, we must keep in mind, education should be the top most priority and it should not be affected by active participation in the community services. Students, say for example, should not be made to sacrifice their study time to participate in these activities and furthermore, a mentor should always be present during the service hours to keep a close watch on the activities being performed to ensure that the students are learning something of value and not idling away their time. In conclusion, community service is a great way to involve students into the real world and teach them to make a contribution to their community. At the same time, it should be ensured that the studies are, in no way, affected by these activities.