Some students prefer to work on class assignment by themselves. Others believe it is better to work in group. Which do you prefer?

Whether having fixed punishments for different kinds of crime has been a long-standing debate. Consequently, there are plenty of arguments supporting both for and against viewpoint. In the further paragraphs more detail will be brought out. One of the most obvious advantages of fixing the punishment is the lower cost, since there will be not need to hold a long lasting trial, and therefore the money spent on the court member can be less, and the time spend on will decrease dramatically, and this leads to another upside, the efficiency. Due to the efficiency, deterring crime will be much more effective, because people will know how harsh the punishments are and may possibly reconsider before they act. However, to some people, fixed penalties may imply a more injustice system. The difference between killing people out of defence and killing for no reason, such as serial killers, is relatively large. Therefore the motivation of committing a crime actually matters, and is supposed to take into account. If all the actions are treated in the same way, and those who break the laws share the same punishment, people may start to lose their faith in the justice system, and this is a result I believe that most people wanted to avoid. In conclusion, the disadvantages of fixing penalties outweigh the advantages. Although the process is way faster, the justice, on the other hand is not properly served. And the most important thing is to let people believe the system, so that the harmony of the society can be achieved.