SOme students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh this disadvantages?

There has been an accelerated tendency among school learners opt for a gap year before entering to the higher education. While there are several reasons for this, I think it would be better to attend university immediately after high school. Obviously, the option to acquire an education later in life is reasonable in certain cases. It is indeed the case that a gap year might provide valuable time for one to discover their potential. A part-time job during this stage, therefore, might be helpful later when a person needs to decide on an academic pathway that best suits their abilities and interests. Apart from this, the invaluable experiences and knowledge one can gain from a gap year are other feasible reasons. A friend of mine decided to travel to different parts of Vietnam before entering university, thus helping him to develop the knowledge relevant to his future career as a cultural expert. Despite these reasons, in my view, the drawbacks involved in taking a gap year surpass its benefits. Firstly, this is particularly the case for students who have a huge desirable for leaving but not coming back. For the vast majority of people who already got into the habit of spending money earned from their jobs through out the gap year, university life could become less attractive than working life. Secondly, a year out might be spent as a year off, particularly when high school leavers have little experience in time management. As a matter of fact, some of these peple tend to spend part of their time on unhealthy hobbies such as video games instead of usefull activities. In conclusion, I strongly argue that the negative aspects associated with taking a gap year that far beyond the potential impacts.